Yom Kippur Reading

Readings for Yom Kippur (The Day of Atonement)

(Click to listen; to save as a file, right click and chose “Save Target As.”)

The bulk of the Yom Kippur morning reading is from Leviticus 16 (you can see the Hebrew text at Maagar Sifrut ha-Kodesh).  If Yom Kippur is on a weekday, the morning reading will be divided into six aliyot or sections; if it is on Shabbat (the Jewish Sabbath) it will be divided into seven:

First aliyah – first part (Leviticus 16:1-3); First aliyah – second part (Leviticus 16:4-6) (If Yom Kippur is on Shabbat the second section will be read separately as the second aliyah).

Second aliyah (Leviticus 16:7-11) (on Shabbat the third)

Third aliyah (Leviticus 16:12-17) (on Shabbat the fourth)

Fourth aliyah (Leviticus 16:18-24) (on Shabbat the fifth)

Fifth aliyah (Leviticus 16:25-30) (on Shabbat sixth)

Sixth aliyah (Leviticus 16:31-34) (on Shabbat seventh)

Yom Kippur Maftir (additional section read at the end of the reading) (Numbers 29:7-11); You can see the Hebrew text at Maagar Sifrut ha-Kodesh

The reading for Minchah (the afternoon prayer service) of Yom Kippur is from Leviticus 18, and is divided into three aliyot.

First aliyah (Leviticus 18:1-5) (audio coming soon)

Second aliyah (Leviticus 18:6-21) (audio coming soon)