Rosh Hashanah Reading

Download the Torah Readings for Rosh Hashanah here:

(Click to listen; to save as a download, right click and chose “save target as”)

The bulk of the reading for the first day of Rosh Hashanah is from Genesis 21 (Hebrew text at Ma’agar Sifrut ha-Kodesh).  Like all weekly Torah readings, the reading for Rosh Hashanah is divided into several aliyot or sections.  If the first day of Rosh Hashanah falls on Shabbat (the Jewish Sabbath), the reading is divided into seven aliyot. Otherwise, it is divided into five aliyot, as follows:

First aliyah (Genesis 21:1-4)

Second aliyah-1; Second aliyah-2 (in two parts)

Third aliyah-1; Third aliyah-2 (Genesis 21:13-17) (in two parts)

Fourth aliyah (Genesis 21:22-26)

Fifth aliyah (Genesis 21:27-34)

(If the first day falls on Shabbat, the second part of the second aliyah becomes the third, the two parts of the third become the fourth and the fifth, respectively, and the fourth and fifth become the sixth and seventh).

Readings for the second day of Rosh Hashanah from Genesis 22 (Hebrew text at Ma’agar Sifrut ha-Kodesh):

First aliyah (Genesis 22:1-3)

Second aliyah (Genesis 22:4-8)

Third aliyah (Genesis 22:9-14)

Fourth aliyah (Genesis 22:15:19)

Fifth aliyah (Genesis 22:20-24)